Skip to main content

Energy Assistance

Energy Assistance Meeting PictureThe South Central Community Action Program provides assistance with summer and winter fuel bills for households in Brown, Monroe, Morgan and Owen counties.

Last program year, SCCAP provided energy assistance to over 3,200 households. For program year 2019 SCCAP is excited to announce that the state of Indiana has changed the income guidelines for eligibility, and we will now be able to serve more households than ever before. The income guidelines can be found below.

     Household Size           Annual Income
               1                           $23,732.00
               2                           $31,034.00
               3                           $38,336.00
               4                           $45,638.00
               5                           $52,940.00
               6                           $60,242.00
               7                           $61,611.00

The 2018-2019 Energy Assistance Program application period is now open. Links to all application materials can be found below. If you are in an energy crisis and need immediate assistance with your bills, please contact your township trustee, or call your local SCCAP office or 211 for referrals to other community resources.

The purpose of the Energy Assistance Program is to help keep members of low-income families safe and healthy, and assist them in achieving energy self-sufficiency and avoiding utility disruptions.  

Participants are encouraged to control energy costs and identify strategies which allow them to pay their future energy bills. Energy conservation education will be available at SCCAP’s offices throughout the winter. Participants will receive information on staying warm while reducing utility costs.

For additional information feel free to email or call your local SCCAP office: 
Monroe County:
Morgan County:
Owen County:
Brown County: 812-988-6636

2019 Full Application
Landlord Affidavit
DWD Release of Information
Weatherization Information
Zero Income Affidavit

All SCCAP services are provided without regard to race, age, color, religion, sex, disability, national origin, ancestry or status as a veteran.